Faculty of Law

HSE Students Come in Second at ICC Moot Court Competition

On May 19th, 2017, students of the HSE Faculty of Law took second place in the final round of the International Criminal Court (ICC) Moot Court Competition which took place in The Hague. One of the HSE students won the award for best speaker in the finals.

The Faculty of Law was represented by Anastiasia Zakharova, Zhargal Budaev, and Julia Balandina, first-year students of the master’s programme in International Trade, Finance, and Economic Integration Law, as well as Lilya Belfer, third-year undergraduate student of law. The team coach was Dimitry Mednikov, first-year master’s student of International Trade, Finance, and Economic Integration Law.

Each team had to express their position on three issues on the appellation chamber, namely: can a government that came to power as a result of a military coup, recognize the ICC jurisdiction; is genocide towards ‘third-gender’ individuals possible; can an ex-child soldier person be exempted from criminal liability. The arguments were assessed by a judicial board consisting of Geoffrey A. Henderson, and ICC judge, as well as Hirad Abtahi and William St-Michel, ICC administration officials.

The HSE Faculty of Law students took second place in the final round of the Moot Court Competition. Anastasia Zakharova was acknowledged as the best speaker of the finals.

On April 20th and 21st, 2017, the Russian stage of the competition took place at HSE. Thirteen teams took part in it and represented the arguments of each of the parties to a case: advocate, prosecutor, and representative of the affected party. After the two days of the competition, the three best teams made it through to the finals in The Hague.

The HSE team came in third in the Russian stage, and was also given the award for the best memorandums for the prosecuting party and the affected party. The team members also took first (Lilya Belfer) and second (Zhargal Budaev) places as the best speakers at the Moot Court.

The HSE team would like to thank the competition organizers, the HSE Department of International Public and Private Law, and the embassy of The Netherlands in Moscow.